Teaching and Learning Guidelines for Chinese

Teaching and Learning Guidelines provide programme guidance for teachers to take account of their particular students’ diverse needs, talents, and aspirations. These guidelines are aligned to the current 2007 version of the New Zealand Curriculum and replace the Chinese section in the previous New Zealand Curriculum document.
Levels 1-4
Levels 5-8


Hao! An introduction to Chinese


The Learning Languages Series (LLS) provides multi-media materials designed for teachers and students who are new to language learning. The series is designed for years 7 and 8 students and supports Levels 1 and 2 achievement objectives in Chinese.


NCEA for Chinese

Access an array of NCEA related assessment material from this NZQA site specifically devoted to Chinese. It includes NCEA achievement standards, internal and external assessment resources, vocabulary lists for external standards, past examination papers, and moderation reports.